Aberg Earns PING First-Workforce All-American Honors

SCOTTSDALE, Arizona – Texas Tech sophomore Ludvig Aberg has been named a 2021 NCAA Division I PING First-Team All-American which was announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Tuesday.

Aberg finished 8th at the NCAA Championship by shooting 1-under following a final round where he recorded a 4-under, 66 for the lowest round of the final day of stroke play. A Sweden native, Aberg completed his second season with the Red Raiders with nine top-10 finishes in 11 stroke-play events this season.

Aberg led the Red Raiders throughout the season, highlighted by winning The Prestige and the Thunderbird Collegiate before finishing fourth at the Big 12 Championship and NCAA Albuquerque Regional. Aberg is No. 5 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking and has also been selected as a Fred Haskins Award finalist. He went into the national final with a 70.68 scoring average this season after shooting 9-under (70-69-68 – 207) in the regional tournament for his sixth top-5 finish this season. Aberg, who was a Ben Hogan Award semifinalist and also has a tournament win at the 2021 Jones Cup Invitational on his resume, has recorded 11 rounds in the 60s with low rounds of 65s coming in the final rounds of the Cabo Collegiate in San Antonio and the George Hannon Collegiate in Austin. He was a co-champion at the Thunderbird Collegiate after shooting 12-under by posting 67-67-67 – 201 which was the third best 54-hole score in Tech history.  

He is the sixth first team All-American selection in program history following Oscar Floren (2004, 2005, 2006) Andrew Dresser (2006) and Nils Floren (2010).

Along with Aberg, Sam Bennett of Texas A&M, Eugenio Chacarra of Oklahoma State, Texas’ Pierceson Coody, Wake Forest’s Alex Fitzpatrick, North Carolina’s Peter Fountain, North Florida’s Nick Gabrelcik, Southern Methodist’s Noah Goodwin, South Carolina’s Ryan Hall, John Pak of Florida State, Turk Pettit of Clemson, and Georgia’s Davis Thompson make up the 12 student-athletes who earned first-team honors.



Leave a Comment