Jung Tabbed Golden Spikes Semifinalist

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech baseball’s Jace Jung has been selected as one of 25 semifinalists for the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award, it was announced today.
The Golden Spikes Award is presented to the top amateur baseball player in the United States. This is the third consecutive year a Jung has been named a semifinalist, with Josh Jung making the list back-to-back years in 2018 and 2019. It is the fourth straight year overall a Red Raider has been on the list with Steven Gingery earning a spot in 2017.
Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2021. Beginning with the semifinalist announcement and continuing through the finalist round voting deadline, fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player on GoldenSpikesAward.com.
A voting body of more than 200 members consisting of baseball media members, select professional baseball personnel, current USA Baseball staff and the previous winners of the award will be asked to choose three players from the list of semifinalists. On June 24, USA Baseball will announce the finalists, and voting for the winner will begin that same day. The winner of the 43rd Golden Spikes Award will be named in July.
Jung was named Big 12 Player of the Year while leading the Red Raiders to another stellar season that has them advancing to their third consecutive NCAA Super Regional. He leads the Big 12 with 21 home runs, 67 RBI, and a .706 slugging percentage. His RBI total is the highest of any Power-5 player. Additionally, he accomplished the rare feat of reaching base safely in every game during the regular season.
This is the latest nod for Jung, who was a unanimous choice to the All-Big 12 First Team in addition to garnering Player of the Year honors. Jung is also a Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist and a Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award finalist.
For all things Red Raider Baseball, follow @TTU_Baseball on Twitter.
2021 – Jace Jung, 2B
2019 – Josh Jung, SS
2018 – Josh Jung, 3B
2017 – Steven Gingery, LHP
1997 – Joe Dillon, 1B
1995 – Clint Bryant, 3B

Leave a Comment